All Hail the Almond

almond2Sometimes you feel like a nut. Sometimes you don’t. In my case I’m nuts about almonds. I prefer them smoked or roasted without salt. If those aren’t available I’ll settle for regular salted almonds. At my local grocery store you can buy them in bulk so I always have some on hand. But before I get into my favorite ways to use them here is some nutritional information. (as if they weren’t awesome enough)

  • contain riboflavin and L-carnitine which increase brain activity.
  • improves skin complexion
  • boosts energy
  • aid in weight loss by helping you feel fuller longer
  • high in vitamin E
  • help to control blood sugar-good snack for diabetics
  • help to lower cholesterol

Almonds are the Madonna of the nut world,constantly reinventing themselves and shocking us. I didn’t know almond flour existed until recently. Here are ways I incorporate this superstar into my diet:

  • raw- perfect post workout snack
  • butter-good replacement for peanut butter in smoothies and snacks
  • flour- use for grain-free baking or “breading” on chicken and fish
  • sliced- put on oatmeal or salads
  • milk– my husband can’t get enough of almond milk but I’ll only drink it if it’s chocolate

*TIP: Almonds stay fresher longer in the fridge.

If you’re looking to switch up your beauty routine try almond oil. It can be used for:

  • moisturizing dry cuticles or hands
  • makeup remover
  • for dry hair and split ends
  • body lotion after a hot shower
  • exfoliator- face or body

At the risk of sounding cliche, the possibilities are endless. In writing this post I’ve found an almond recipe I have to try. White Chocolate Almond Protein Bars. Don’t these look divine? Bonus, they are grain free too.

bars

What are some ways  you use almonds? Leave a comment or tag me on Instagram @step_onmyknee.  I’d love to know!

Signature

Sign up for ways to take back your health & happiness

*This post was written in conjunction with nuts.com

Leave a Reply

