Nacho Average Lunch

IMG_20150322_133349I’m a little embarrassed to say this but over the weekend I signed up for…Pinterest! I know I know I didn’t just miss the boat on this one. I saw it leaving, waved, then rolled over and went back to sleep. I am on so many social media platforms, Pinterest was one I thought I could opt out of. But after scrolling through pages of grain-free sites I feel prey to the siren song. Every time i clicked on a link to Pinterest this huge box would appear telling me to log in. Like a bouncer at a club telling me I’m not on the list.

Then the heaves opened and I was greeted with an array of recipes from the four corners of the internet all in one place.  I found this and pinned it immediately. It’s super easy and you can make it ahead of time. Brace Yourself.

Zucchini Chips.

IMG_20150326_062831

They are grain-free and even crunch like chips. I topped them with ground beef, black beans, a little cheese and lots of pico de gallo. Poof! Instant nachos. This is the recipe I used. Let me know what you think!

Zucchini Chips
Preheat oven to 425 degrees
Thinly slice the zucchini using a mandolin. I used #3 thickness on mine.
Line a paper towel with zucchini slices then top with another paper towel and press down to remove some excess moisture. This will help chips to cook faster.
Spread zucchini slices in an even layer on a baking sheet lined with parchment. You may have to do several batches.
Bake for 10-12 minutes, turning once, until chips begin to brown and crisp. YOU NEED TO KEEP AN EYE ON THEM! There is a fine line between browning and burning so be sure not to set it and forget it.
Remove from the oven and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

*I know the recipe says to blot with a paper towel but I’ve done it both ways and there’s not a huge difference. I also had better luck setting the oven at 350 (it may have helped not to watch Bob’s Burgers either. I burned that batch…)

Signature

Leave a Reply

