Don’t Stop… Believin’

kid

My mom took me to my first yoga class when I was in highschool. It was in a church and I was the youngest person there. I didn’t know what to expect. I’d never even heard of yoga. But after that initial class I was hooked. I was stretching like I used to when I was a dancer and I sweat up a storm. I left class counting down the days until the next one.

Ever since then I’ve been practicing 4 days a week and participating in Instagram challenges. I can even do a headstand! (as of last week)

Suddenly people started to take notice. People I’d known for years, who always had something to say about me and my yoga, started going to yoga classes or asking to go with me. I was being tagged in challenges. (I’m sure most of this is due to the fact yoga is the trendy workout of the moment) It was a great feeling! Mostly because I was proud of continuing my practice in spite of the remarks and comments.

hate

I learned that it’s not about trying to compete with others or be the best right off the bat. It’s about focusing on yourself. Believing you can do it even if no one else does. People may not understand or even like what you’re doing but once they see you improving, suddenly those haters will magically turn into supporters. As the saying goes, stay in your own lane. Eventually people will notice, then feel free to toot your horn as you pass them by.

rhino

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

