Get Fit without Leaving Your Bed

bedWe’ve all been there. The buzzing of our alarm jerks us out of a peaceful slumber. Through half closed eyes we stumble along to the bathroom hoping our toe doesn’t find the corner of a dresser. Or in my case, actually running into a wall.

In the morning I can’t be held responsible for anything I say or do before my first cup of coffee. My husband says addict. I say filter. Like an Instagram filter helps to blur imperfections or sharpen features, coffee helps me to censor my responses and sharpen my thoughts.

But in the interest of being healthier and cutting down on my caffeine intake (5 cups a day is a lil cray cray) I’ve started stretching in the morning. The genius part is, I don’t even have to get out of bed!

The series of stretches I do wakes my body up and helps combat my soreness from hot yoga the night before. (one day I woke up in the middle of the night with a leg cramp. It was not cute.) Now stretching is crucial for me.

Here are a few stretches I do.

forward

Seated forward fold

cowCat cow poseopen

Seated heart opener. Sometimes I’ll push all the way back ┬áso my knees are touching the bed. This really opens my hips.sideSeated side bendchild
Forward foldarm2Tricep stretch. If anyone knows the official name please let me know.
arm

 

Shoulder Stretch. Again if anyone knows the official name please let me know.

thread

Shoulder stretch thread the needle. This will only work if you sleep alone. Make sure your head and supporting arm are on the bed.

*Sorry about the photos. I’d love to have actual photos of me in bed doing these stretches but as I’m by myself and don’t have that kinda time I had to settle for generic ones.

I’d love to know if any of these work for you! Leave a comment or tag me in a photo in Instagram @step_onmyknee.

Signature

Leave a Reply

