Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

As I’ve indicated in previous posts, my wisdom tooth struggle is real. Recovery isn’t going as fast as I’d like it to (it’s only been 3 weeks). Trying to will myself better by eating steaks has left my mouth feeling sore and slightly swollen.
I’m past the stage of eating scrambled eggs and broth but not totally back to eating solid foods. And this is my dilemma. How am I supposed to get enough protein and not starve during the day? Living on soup for two weeks was rough. I started craving all kinds of things; chips, chicken wings, my left arm.
I was scouring the internet one day at work and found a recipe for pumpkin pancakes. Hallelujah! Finally something besides eggs for breakfast. I could also make them ahead of time and take them to work. I added protein powder to the batter too so I’d stay fuller, longer. It didn’t change the taste at all (not that I could tell). So enough of my whining and onto the recipe!

*This makes about 5 pancakes. (I cook for 1)

Ingredients
1/2 cup coconut flour- or pancake mix or all my grainy friends
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1/2 cup pumpkin purée
1/4 cup water – feel free to add more if the batters too thick
Dash of nutmeg
Dash of pumpkin spice seasoning

Sift all the dry ingredients. This makes your pancakes fluffy.
Fold in the wet ingredients.
Make sure everything is well combined but don’t over mix.
Pour a small amount into your frying pan. I coat mine with coconut oil to keep the pancakes from sticking.IMG_20150120_071606

Tip:1/4 measuring cup is great for portioning out the batter

Here are some additions to make your pancakes even more special
White or milk chocolate chips
Chia seeds
Pecans
Almonds
Cinnamon
Vanilla extract

IMG_20150120_071522 (1)

What do you like to put in your pancakes?

Signature

Leave a Reply

