Grain-Free Soups

There’s nothing worse than when you’re sick, with dietary restrictions (grain-free, food allergies), and all the foods you’re “supposed” to eat you can’t have. Case in point: when I had my wisdom teeth out my hunni made me chili…with corn, chicken noodle soup was mentioned multiple times, and in an effort to help my mom bought oatmeal. I know I’m not allergic to gluten/grains so people feel that I should ignore my dietary choices when I’m sick. But you don’t have to do that and no one should force you to.

Remember the BRAT method (bananas, rice, applesauce and toast) as a way to keep things down and build up to solid foods? Here is a grain-free version: Bananas (dip them in peanut butter if you can, yum!), potatoes (sweet or white), canned pumpkin (sprinkle with cinnamon and warm it up. You can add honey or peanut butter too), spaghetti squash or zucchini noodles (flavor them however you want or eat them plain if you’re still feeling queasy). Since having my wisdom teeth out I’ve been living on yogurts and soup. In an effort to get my fruits and veggies I juice them and drink that twice a day.

I’ve compiled a few grain-free soups that are tasty and will have you feeling better in no time!

Big Bang Theory Soup

Beef & Mushroom Soup
Ginger Chicken Soup
Golden Cauliflower Soup
Curried Butternut Squash Soup
Smoky Mexican Tortilla-less Chicken Soup
Baked Potato Soup– I left out the cornstarch
Leek and Potato Soup

What is your favorite soup when you’re sick?

Signature

Leave a Reply

