Healthy Thanksgiving Sides

sides

Original here

In my family Thanksgiving is characterized by family disputes, food comas, and football. Lots of little cousins running around and the whole neighborhood coming to visit. (My granny has lived in her house for a very long time, she was also the local sheriff so everyone knew her)

I haven’t seen my family since going grain-free so this will be interesting. It’s my personal belief Thanksgiving is the most unhealthy holiday. I actually know people who have gone on a diet just so they can binge on turkey, stuffing and cranberry sauce. But I’m a firm believer that eating healthy doesn’t mean giving up the foods you love. It just means you have to get more creative. Here are  a few healthier versions of some of my favorite dishes:

Mashed Cauliflower (instead of mashed potatoes)

mash

Recipe here

 

Green bean casserole (Yum! I’d leave out the breadcrumbs)

green

Recipe here

Stuffing

stuff

Recipe here

Kale and carrots (I like collard greens as well)

PicMonkey Collage

Recipe here

Sweet Potato Casserole (I never liked marshmallows on mine)

pecan

Recipe here

Hopefully these recipes will leave you feeling full without being stuffed. But you may still fall prey to a food coma. Sadly, I’ve yet to find a replacement for my aunt’s red velvet cake. (I’m secretly hoping she won’t make it this year so I don’t have to refuse a slice)

Do you celebrate Thanksgiving? What are your favorite dishes?

Signature

Leave a Reply

