Create Me Time

IMG_1702.JPG
“I’m too tired”

“I don’t have time”

“American Horror Story is on tonight”

We’ve all heard these excuses before. We use our job, spouse, kids, and fears to hold ourselves hostage. Usually, our excuses end up stopping us from something we really want to do. Excuses have a way of piling up like bricks and building a wall around something we are passionate about. Eventually we’ve made so many excuses we can’t even remember what we wanted to do anymore. Those who manage to put themselves as * gasp * number 1 are labeled as selfish and self centered.

We as women have a tendency to put everyone and everything before ourselves and it’s hurting us. You should not be the martyr of your own life! If you don’t make time for yourself no one else is going to. Here are a few ways to create some “me time”:

  • Get up an hour or two earlier

There is a peacefulness in rising before the sun and you can do whatever you want without worrying about cleaning your apartment or that pile of dirty laundry in the corner.

  • Lock yourself in a room

Designate a time and stow away in your bedroom or the laundry room (my place). Use that time to practice some yoga or pick up that book you’ve been dying to read.

  • Get away

Go to your favorite coffee shop or to a park. Take a relaxing walk to clear your mind and allow yourself to dream. What have you always wanted to do? It’s never too late to start.

  • Take a sick day

I know this is blasphemy in the corporate world but sometimes you need it. Apply the same dedication and hard work to your dreams as you do to your job. Because if you don’t build your own dreams, someone else will hire you to build theirs.

  • Unplug

How many  mindless hours do you spend on Snapchat, Pinterest, or Facebook? Set aside one day a week and turn off your computer and cellphone. Use that time to rediscover your passions.

Do you struggle with making yourself a priority? What are some ways you create me time? Comment below!

Signature

4 thoughts on “Create Me Time

  1. It’s certainly not the perfect scenario, but I usually stay up for an hour or so after my guys go to bed – it’s my time to catch up on housework (waking up to a clean kitchen makes those 20 minutes worth it for me!), working on blogging, etc., and reading. I’d like to transition so that I’m getting up an hour earlier and going to bed earlier, but I’m just not sure how realistic that is right now. Any little bit of me time is good though ­čÖé

  2. jessarnold91 says:

    Love this line, “You should not be the martyr of your own life!”

    Also, I DEFINITELY need to practice unplugging. I’m AWFUL!

Leave a Reply

