Healthy Fall Snacks

One of the pitfalls of having a desk job is that I’m prone to snacking while I work. Typically I try to eat 3 meals a day with 2 snacks between breakfast and dinner. Some people say it’s a bad idea to snack but as long as you portion out your food I think it’s fine.

I like to vary my foods depending on the season. For instance, in the summer I eat more yogurts and berries and in the fall/winter I eat pumpkin seeds and apples. I also love trail mix and let’s be honest, that’s good any time of year.

I made the difficult decision to cut grains out of my life a few months ago. Truth be told I sometimes eat oatmeal or the occasional bagel but for the most part I stay away from bread, corn, rice and pasta. This makes eating a little more challenging. Most of the recipes I’ve found call for things like coconut flour or mejool dates which are so hard to find in my small town and store bought snacks are out of the question * sad face * However, I’ve come up with a few healthy snacks I’d like to try (minus the obscure ingredients). I’ve thrown in some old favorites too.
friesYum! Sweet potato fries. And bacon makes it even better.

kaleKale chips are quick and easy to make.

wingI can’t wait to try out this chicken wing recipe!

coconut2Excited to try these coconut bars.

dough

I love this quick and easy snack but I don’t add the salt or additional sweetener.
cookie

 

Peanut butter and chocolate, need I say more?apples and cheese

 

This is my standby snack. You can always find cheese and apples no matter where you are.

seeds

Pumpkin seeds are always a delicious reward after all that carving.

 

I’d love to see what kind of fall foods you enjoy. Leave a comment below or post your photos on Instagram and tag me @step_onmyknee.

Signature

Leave a Reply

