South Korean Beauty Products

Yay! I am home from my trip to South Korea! Glad to be back in my comfy bed. I love traveling but it’s always nice to come back to your own space. Don’t you agree?  (I’ve also been battling a cold which is why it took me so long to post this.)

I had the opportunity to visit Myeong-dong. (And when I say opportunity I mean I dragged my husband 3 hours on a bus.) This is one of Seoul’s main shopping districts. It’s a hodge podge of American stores, Korean stores, restaurants and street vendors. Luckily we were able to go before it got too crowded and too hot.

meyongdongLook at all those stores!

Skin care plays a very important role in Korean culture. From a very young age they are taught to take care of their skin by protecting it from the sun. They apply endless products to make sure their skin is properly moisturized, exfoliated, and free from grime. That must be why all Koreans look like teenagers. *jealous*

So when in Rome… I tried not to go too crazii and only bought items I knew I would use and that were in English. I’m a sucker for packaging so this was very hard for me (who wouldn’t love under eye concealer in the form of a panda?)

Here are my purchases:products

I am very excited to try this. It feels waxy like a lip balm but once it’s on your skin it turns powdery. And it smells like lemons!

pore balm I adore face masks. These are paper ones that have been soaked in “essence” as South Koreans call it. You put it on your face for 10 minutes take it off and then rub in the excess. I must confess, I used one of these as soon as I got home from the trip. It left my face as soft as a baby’s bottom, even when I woke up the next morning! These 2 packs cost 80¢ each. Mind blown.masks

The Rocket by Maybelline has been my go to mascara for a long time. But this collagen boosting mascara caught my eye. I don’t have fine lashes but I wouldn’t mind having fuller looking ones.mascara

When I saw this cleanser with salicylic acid in it I had to have it. I don’t get very many breakouts but when I do I make a mad dash to the store and buy Clean & Clear’s Oil Absorbing Treatment. Unfortunately it dries out my face. As someone with oily skin it’s very strange to have dry patches. I’m hoping this cleanser will be more gentle because it’s a foam.foam

I’ve never used a lip mask before and I’m not sure what it’s supposed to do. Is it a less harsh version of a lip scrub? I’ll keep you posted on this one.IMG_4529

I’ve heard good things about Bioderma. It’s a face cleanser/makeup remover. Since they don’t sell it in the states I grabbed it as soon as I saw it on the shelf. I don’t think it will replace my beloved coconut oil but it’s good to mix up your beauty routine.bioderma

I’ve checked on Amazon and you can order some of these products. I have a feeling I’ll be buying more face masks if nothing else.

What is one beauty product must for you? Let me know in the comments!

Signature

Leave a Reply

