Simple Things

A few weeks ago my Hunni and I went to Europe (full post coming soon). We both have family over there so it was great to see our families. While we were waiting for our flight from Bristol to Amsterdam we decided to nose around the stores. It’s so nice when your not rushing to catch a plane. We found ourselves in a bookstore where I stumbled upon these:

the witches little miss

I love Roald Dahl and the Mr. Men & Little Miss books! I’m pretty sure I let out a tiny gasp when I saw them. It was like I’d unearthed a forgotten piece of my childhood. It took a great amount of willpower to buy only one of each book. I went through almost every book in the display ¬†before I decided on these two. I feel they represent my Hunni and me. The Witches by Roald Dahl is one of my favorites. He’s also the author or Fantastic Mr. Fox and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. His style of writing is simple enough to read to a child but with enough sarcasm and wit to make it interesting to the adult reading it. Kind of like the show Sponge Bob here in the states.

On my lunch break last week I went home sat on my deck in the sun and read Little Miss Scatterbrain. It was so peaceful. Amongst all the chaos in our lives it’s hard to take a moment and enjoy the simple things. Even if it’s only for ten minutes to read a favorite book from your childhood, sit outside, walk barefoot through the grass or whatever it is. After you will feel refreshed and ready to take on the rest of the day. What are some of the simple things you enjoy?

XOXO

 

Leave a Reply

