Thanksgiving

This year Thanksgiving was full of firsts. It was my first time cooking the HUGE traditional meal by myself, the first time without turkey (my Hunni is a vegetarian), the first time I wasn’t with any of my family and it’s the first time that my Hunni and I have been together for Thanksgiving which is crazii because we have been together for 5 years! I think it’s the only holiday we haven’t spent together.

It’s especially challenging this time of year to cook for a vegetarian. It’s not as if they make tofu turkeys that you can fry and even if they did I’m sure I wouldn’t be able to find one in North Dakota. Hunting here is like a religion. The first day of hunting season people actually skip work. So to compensate I made six sides. There was stuffing, corn bread, sweet potatoes, macaroni and cheese, green bean casserole and collard greens. I also had ham, I cannot live without my meat.

Here is our table for two with my wonderful centerpiece. I actually reused the pumpkin from my Halloween decor.

My pumpkin up close.

The hardest part of my day was trying to scale everything down to feed two people. Most recipes feed 6 or 8 and they always tell you what to do if you want to feed more people but never the other way ’round.

For dessert there was another first for me. Sweet Potato Souffle. I could never get past putting marshmallows on it. But thanks to Paula Dean I’ve been converted.

Keeping with the spirit of Thanksgiving here are a few things I’m thankful for this year:

  • Being with my Hunni after 2.5 years apart
  • Amazing friends
  • Skype
  • My health (a few years ago it wasn’t so great)
  • Finally being able to support myself

And if you haven’t eaten enough already I’m going to leave you with a picture of these adorable Thanksgiving cupcakes. You can make them here.

Wishing you all a Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

